Congrats to all of the winners from this past week’s 2012 Jazz Journalist’s Association Jazz Awards. Among the winners was the lifetime achievement award for journalist and cultural critic Amiri Baraka. Check out the winners below and shoot them out some congratulations on their wins!

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz: Horace Silver
Musician of the Year: Sonny Rollins
Composer-Arranger of the Year: Maria Schneider
Up and Coming Artist of the Year: Ben Williams
Record of the Year: Sonny Rollins, Road Shows, Vol. 2 (Doxy Records)
Best Historic Recording/Boxed Set: Miles Davis, Bootleg Sessions, Vol. 1, Quintet Live in Europe 1967 (Columbia Legacy)
Record Label of the Year: ECM
Large Ensemble of the Year: Mingus Big Band
Small Ensemble of the Year: Joe Lovano Us Five
Best Male Vocalist: Kurt Elling
Best Female Vocalist: Gretchen Parlato
Trumpeter of the Year: Ambrose Akinmusire
Trombonist of the Year: Wycliffe Gordon
Multi-reeds Player of the Year: Anat Cohen
Alto Saxophonist of the Year: Rudresh Mahanthappa
Tenor Saxophonist of the Year: Sonny Rollins
Baritone Saxophonist of the Year: Gary Smulyan
Soprano Saxophonist of the Year: Jane Ira Bloom
Flutist of the Year: Nicole Mitchell
Clarinetist of the Year: Anat Cohen
Guitarist of the Year: Bill Frisell
Pianist of the Year: Vijay Iyer
Keyboard player of the Year: Gary Versace
Bassist of the Year: Christian McBride
Violinist of the Year: Regina Carter
Percussionist of the Year: Poncho Sanchez
Mallets Instrumentalist of the Year: Gary Burton
Drummer of the Year: Roy Haynes
Player of Instruments Rare in Jazz of the Year: Toots Thielemans, harmonica

More Winners Here!


Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.