A new project dropped this morning exclusively on iTunes featuring the likes of Christian Scott, Matt Stevens, Jamire Williams, Ben Williams, Kris Bowers, Walter Smith III, Logan Richardson and Gerald Clayton. They are calling themselves the NEXT Collective and have dropped a sneak peak of the project on Concord Records in the form of a three-song EP.

The EP starts off with a tasteful cover of the Watch the Throne‘s ” No Church in the Wild” (an album Kris Bowers played on) and features Christian Scott voicing his signature brass crooning while Ben Williams holds down the “No Church” theme under the forward-cruising piano vamps and solo sections. Scott goes on to unleash the some of those ferocious lines that have made his style signature, prompting it to hit a climax midway through only to be picked back up before fading out. The song comes in at a lengthy 6:46 and is worth every second of your listen.

All of these musicians have claimed their respective spots in the next generation of jazz and this project will only serve to further that point. No doubt the full release will pack some stopping power, hopefully bringing their other respective projects into the limelight.

Buy NEXT Collective Here


“No Church in the Wild” (ft. Christian Scott) – Jay-Z & Kanye Cover
“Africa” – D’Angelo Cover
“Oceans” – Pearl Jam Cover

UPDATE: The full album will aptly be titled Cover Art and the tracklist will be as follows

Complete Album Listing:

1.       Twice (Little Dragon)

2.       No Church In The Wild (Jay Z and Kanye West)

3.       Africa (D’Angelo)

4.       Fly Or Die (N.E.R.D)

5.       Oceans (Pearl Jam)

6.       Refractions In The Plastic Pulse (Stereolab)

7.       Marvins Room (Drake)

8.       Come Smoke My Herb (Meshell Ndegeocello)

9.       Perth (Bon Iver)

10.   Thank You  (Dido)

Produced by Chris Dunn and NEXT Collective



Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.