Dilla Month is heating up with some exciting projects dropping every day. Atlanta’s Darryl Reeves recently released a mixtape featuring his band’s renditions of their favorite Dilla beats and it’s not something to pass up. The Dillaquarium Mixtape boasts live covers of “Fantastic,” Donut Man,” and more in the seven-track voyage through Dilla hits.


Consisting of Darryl Reeves (saxophone) Kenny Banks, Jr. (keyboards), Joel Powell (bass) and Kenton Bostick (drums), the group moves effortlessly through the hip-hop repertoire like so many musicians of this generation, but these musicians are anything but ordinary — especially in this context. Check out the mixtape and be sure to show the Atlanta cats some love if you dig it!


1. Fantastic

2. Donut Man

3. Dreamy

4. She Said

5. Upper Egypt

6. Makin’ Me Itch

7. Star of Detroit


Darryl Reeves – Alto & Soprano Saxophone, additional Keyboards (Vocals on Track 04)
Kenny Banks, Jr – Keyboards
Joel Powell – Bass
Kenton Bostick – Drums

Art Direction – Darryl Reeves

Recorded, Mixed & Mastered by Darryl Reeves

Follow Darryl Reeves Online


Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.