Derrick Hodge — one of the preeminent bassists, composers, and artists of our time — has officially announced a release date for his solo debut on Blue Note Records entitled Live Today. On August 6, 2013 Hodge will release the fruits of his recording sessions featuring special guests Common, Robert Glasper, Alan Hampton, and more!


The core band on Live Today will feature Travis Sayles, Aaron Parks, Chris Dave, Mark Colenburg, Keyon Harrold, Marcus Strickland, and Cory King. Take a peek at what Hodge had to say about the record:

Yeah man, I’m really excited about my album, Live Today. I officially signed with Blue Note Records…I didn’t bring in a whole lot of special guests or anything like that. I have Common on a piece and Alan Hampton sat in and sang a song with me on the record which I’m excited about. Robert is on a song. But other than that core band was Travis Sayles, Aaron Parks – both keyboard and organ players – Chris Dave is on it, Mark Colenburg is playing drums too, Keyon Harrold, Marcus Strickland, and Corey King. I’m just excited about it.

Read More About Derrick Hodge’s Live Today in our Interview here!

YouTube Preview Image

Track List:

1.      The Real

2.      Table Jawn

3.      Message Of Hope

4.      Boro March

5.      Live Today featuring Common

6.      Dances With Ancestors

7.      Anthem in 7

8.      Still The One

9.      Holding Onto You featuring Alan Hampton

10.  Solitude

11.  Rubberband

12.  Gritty Folk

13.  Doxology (I Remember)

14.  Night Visions (bonus track)


Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.