Wondercore Island—the artist management and PR company behind future soul act Hiatus Kaiyote—recently sent us tracks from some of Melbourne’s own: Clever Austin, Demian, and Kirkis to peep and we’ve got the streams for you!


Kirkis is a 4 piece live ensemble lead by bassist and producer Kirkis, filled out by Leigh Fisher on drums and electronics, Simon Mavin on rhodes and synth (Hiatus Kaiyote), and Luke Saunders also on rhodes and synth. Their music is glitchy and assertive in the best way, coming from musicians that are adept in jazz and well-versed in the beat world. Their song “Disisvavvy”  comprises the A-Side of the newly released, Equinox Session EP 7″ vinyl.

The spacey and beautiful “Kin” represents the B-Side of the Equinox Session EP. It’s a track that comes from Demian, a duo comprised of guitarist and composer Jamil Zacharia, and beat producer Alejandro Abapo. They formed back in 2011 for the Victorian College of the Arts Improv Series, which they went on to win.

Clever Austin is the beat production nom de plume of Hiatus Kaiyote drummer, Perrin Moss, who’s been sneakily releasing music through Soundcloud and Youtube videos. As he prepares to drop Hide-Away Headshell – Mixtape #1, he’s just released a video of a live performance of his song “Sirens.” The footage features an 8 piece group that performs his productions on the special occasions that Clever Austin performs live (drums, percussion, 2 synths, trombone, alto sax, bass, and guitar).

Words by Kaley Puckett


Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.