José James returns with “EveryLittleThing,” his newest single from his forthcoming album, While You Were Sleeping . Joining James’ stellar band– comprised of Kris Bowers (keys), Solomon Dorsey (bass), and Richard Spaven (drums)– is guitarist Brad Allen Williams. The addition of Williams signals a creative change in James’ taste as the singer/songwriter explores his rock influences which range from Jimi Hendrix to Nirvana to Radiohead and others.


James had this to say about his newest project and his new direction:

“This album is a synthesis of everything I love about music. From contemporary artists like Frank Ocean, James Blake, and Junip to groundbreaking artists I grew up with like Nirvana, Radiohead, and Madlib. It’s also a love letter to many late nights spent in East London clubs like Plastic People and Cargo, watching new movements unfold in electronic music. I want people to feel the joy of discovery that I experience night after night onstage, reaching for something new.”

James’ upcoming album also features singer/songwriter Becca Stevens on the song “Dragon,” a song that Stevens herself wrote. While James’ forthcoming LP features mostly original tunes, trumpeter extraordinaire and frequent collaborator Takuya Kuroda link up with James for the Al Green classic, “Simply Beautiful.”

While You Were Sleeping is set to be released June 10th via Blue Note. Head over to NPR to listen to “EveryLittleThing” and  find out more about  José James’ impending release as well as details of his tour.

While You Were Sleeping track listing:
1. Angel (José James)
2. U r the 1 (J. James/T. Billig/K. Bowers/B. Williams)
3. While You Were Sleeping (J. James)
4. Anywhere U Go (J. James/S. Dorsey)
5. Bodhisattva (J. James/S. Dorsey)
6. 4 Noble Truths (J. James)
7. Dragon feat. Becca Stevens (Becca Stevens)
8. Salaam (K. Bowers/B. Williams/S. Dorsey/R. Spaven)
9. Without U (J. James/T. Billig/B. Williams)
10. EveryLittleThing (J. James/K. Bowers)
11. xx (J. James)
12. Simply Beautiful feat. Takuya Kuroda (Al Green)


1 Replies to "José James – ‘EveryLittleThing’ Premiere via NPR"
Simba Don says:
April 15, 2014 at 5:53 am

Spotify>> NPR

Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.