Blue Note Records President Don Was best described vocalist José James: “He’s got his own vision, he’s got his own point of view, [and] he’s got a sensibility that’s entirely his own. José is José.” James will once again share his unique vision on March 31st with the release of his forthcoming album titled Yesterday I Had The Blues: The Music of Billie Holiday, a tribute to the legendary singer on her 100th birthday.

José James To Release 'Yesterday I Had The Blues: The Music of Billie Holiday'

Yesterday I Had The Blues: The Music of Billie Holiday comes on the heels of James’ 2014 release While You Were Sleeping, a 12-track LP featuring mostly original tunes written by the singer. The album, produced by Don Was, also features a star-studded band that includes Jason Moran (piano), John Patitucci (bass), and Eric Harland (drums).

“I rediscovered Billie during a difficult period of my teenage years,” James states about the music of Holiday. “As much as I loved Nirvana, De La Soul, and A Tribe Called Quest, her music spoke to me on a much deeper level. Her work was mastery– of pain, of trauma, of faith in music and the power of transformation. I had found my teacher. Billie Holiday made me want to be a jazz singer and set me on the path that I’m walking today.”

Scroll down to watch the preview of  José James’ Yesterday I Had The Blues: The Music of Billie Holiday.

YouTube Preview Image


The track listing for Yesterday I Had The Blues: The Music of Billie Holiday is as follows:

1. Good Morning Heartache


2. Body and Soul

3. Fine and Mellow

4. I Thought About You

5. What a Little Moonlight Can Do

6. Tenderly

7. Lover Man

8. God Bless the Child

9. Strange Fruit




Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.