Marcus Strickland and Meshell Ndegecello are back behind the boards for an intimate journey into the making of the highly-anticipated Nihil Novi LP, which landed on Friday via Blue Note/REVIVE. The 14-track project fronted by Strickland’s Twi-Life and produced by Ndegeocello is brimming with standouts performed by a who’s who of powerhouse talents including Keyon Harrold, Robert Glasper, Charles Haynes, Mitch Henry, Chris Dave, Masayuki Hirano, Jean Baylor and Pino Palladino. Shot at NYC’s Quad Studios, the clip opens with an explanation of the album title that finds Strickland translating the concept of the project – a healthy nod to his predecessors and muses that also acknowledges the singularity he seeks to achieve with his own work – from Latin to English.

Nihil novi sub sole. Non potest esse nisi unum.
…There is nothing new under the sun. There can be only one.

Marcus Strickland & Meshell Ndegeocello Talk The Finer Points Of His 14-Track 'Nihil Novi' LP In The Official Trailer For The Album, Out Now via Blue Note/REVIVE.

Continuing, Strickland details the chain of events that ultimately prompted Meshell Ndegeocello’s involvement in the project. Discussing their creative differences, respective hopes, collective moments of sonic triumph – the addition of celebrated engineer Bob Power in particular – and overall joy at the release, the pair provides an in-depth primer for the emotionally dense and irrefutably bright gut punch that is the Nihil Novi LP. Check the footage below to view the Nihil Novi LP trailer. Purchase the Nihil Novi LP via iTunes and Amazon. Get more on the project and Marcus Strickland’s Twi-Life via


Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.