On Sunday, August 7th, Igmar Thomas & the Revive Big Band present the second installment of A Journey Through The Legacy of Black Culture – a groundbreaking series of concept performances composed as a living testament to the breadth of African diasporic musical traditions the continued impact on American culture. Combining Jazz, Blues, Rock n Roll, R&B and Hip-Hop, the band presents a transformative series that seeks to peel back the layers of appropriation and commercial perversion to translate the roots of black music – from Louis Armstrong, James Brown to A Tribe Called Quest – according to the unifying rhythms at the core of the culture. Esperanza Spalding, Nicholas Payton and Bilal will join the band in honoring the classic compositions and innovators that have served as the heartbeat of the sound. Alongside them will be Raydar Ellis (DJ / MC), TAHARQA Patterson (vocals), Dezron L Douglas – bass, John Davis – drums, James Francies – piano, Marvin Sewell – guitar, Godwin Louis – alto sax, Brent Birckhead – alto sax, Myron Walden – tenor sax, Chelsea Baratz – tenor sax, Patience Higgins – baritone sax, Frank Lacy – trombone, Matthew Hartnett– trombone, Corey A. Wallace – trombone, James Rogers – bass trombone, Sam Hoyt – trumpet, Jonathan Powell – trumpet, Philip Dizackk – trumpet, Jumaane Smith – trumpet, with Igmar Thomas leading the band.


A Journey Through the Legacy of Black Culture

with Igmar Thomas & The Revive Big Band

featuring Esperanza Spalding, Bilal and Nicholas Payton

Date: Sunday, August 7

Time: Doors 6pm / Concert 7pm

Venue: SummerStage NYC (Central Park – Rumsey Playfield

Tickets: Free Admission – more info here

Admission is first come, first served for free events. Admission to the venue closes for the remainder of the event once capacity is reached.

Produced by Revive Music


Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.